Mosquitoes?

Discussion in 'Travel advice' started by jnorth88, Apr 4, 2016.

1. jnorth88

jnorth88 Active Member

I have limited experience in the camping and wilderness areas of India, and I am wondering if there are mosquitoes to deal with? If I plan on going out into the forest, should I bring some deet or other repellents?

2. knitmehere

knitmehere Member

From what I remember, there are always tons of mosquitoes. Even if you weren't camping, I would suggest some type of repellent.

3. GammaRay

GammaRay Member

Asia is pretty tropical, the humidity can be harsh sometimes added with the fact flies and mosquitoes often pollute the sewage and pools. Bringing a repellent is always good advice especially if the destination you're going to is conducive to those environments.

4. briannagodess

briannagodess Well-Known Member

It's definitely more practical to bring in some insect repellant. India is a very tropical country like mine and mosquitoes love breeding in such places. Usually, mosquitoes are rampant during the early morning and early evening. So as much as you can, try spraying in some anti-mosquito lotions before going out in these times. If you're going camping, it's wise to dress in long-sleeve shirts and pants.

There are other options like coils which you lit and can repel mosquitoes. But it's a bit of a fire hazard if left on its own. Then there are electric mosquito killers which you cannot bring in camping sites. Your other option would have to be mosquito nets which are quite effective in repelling mosquitoes.

Good luck!

5. jnorth88

jnorth88 Active Member

How much does repellent cost in India? Is it worth it to bring my own, of just buy some locally?

6. CaptainOblivious

CaptainOblivious New Member

@jnorth88 Repellant doesn't cost much and can be procured cheaply. However if you have any allergies, you may want to bring a brand of your own that you have tested out first.